Visual Literacy: Part 2

by rnb10

Tetley Exhibition Piece – Visual Literacy Part 2

After part 1 of Visual Literacy I have decided I would like to expand on my sewing skills and for my final exhibition piece I would like to create a quilt like mural somewhat similar to the ‘Shoreditch Sisters FGM Campaign’.
296232_10151475372911932_542279459_nf8da929073816845_47c6560380_b-640x426

Although I am planning on creating my piece in a similar style to the Shoreditch Sisters, the subject matter I am basing my project around is more personal to me.
Alzheimer’s disease is present and common within my family and I have recently lost close family members to this horrible disease, I would like to create a quilt documenting how the disease eats away at the victims brain cells causing them to loose their memory and eventually their life.
I think it would be an interesting way to highlight the seriousness of the disease in a way people would not necessarily see it, personally I do not know the ins and outs of how the disease develops internally, I only know what I have seen from an outside perspective.
This subject is very close to my heart and I am very passionate about helping towards the cause.

 

