COP3 Feedback

by rnb10

After receiving my COP3 feedback and reading through it I found that a lot of things Marianne advised me to do I have already been doing which is a good start, although there are still things that I need to do and I majorly need to get organised!

Key Points in Feedback:

  • Find theoretical texts to back up discussion and triangulate an argument.
  • Look at psychological factors of animal captivity.
  • Read and research ideas of captivity and how it has been affected by consumerism and ideologies surrounding the ‘zoo’.
  • Broaden sources of secondary research: so make sure you look for more books, critical text, journals and publications, as well as your suggested websites and documentaries. Visit exhibitions if needed.
  • Books to look at:- Reading zoos: representations of animals and captivity by Malamud, Randy, 1962.

    – Plastic animals in cages: behavioral flexibility and responses to captivity by Mason, Georgia; Burn, Charlotte C; Dallaire, Jamie Ahloy.

    – Why look at animals by John Berger.

  • Primary research should include conversations, interviews etc.
  • Concentrate on creative practice:
    – How do I intend to connect my research with an area of practice?
    – Think about how my research will directly feed into a practical piece of work.
  • Study other practitioners and critiquing their work:
    – Activist
    – Photographers
    – Illustrators
  • Need to start creative research a.s.a.p!
