Visiting Tropical World

by rnb10

Visiting Tropical World was quite an experience and definitely not what I was expecting. Although it was a rainy autumns day, Tropical World was still bustling with children, families and even couples coming to check out the wildlife.

I imagined the enclosure to be a lot bigger with the amount of animals they advertised to have held there, especially the crocodile enclosure I found to be very small.

IMG_9407

As you can see the crocodile has hardly any space to swim around in its enclosure and has in fact tucked itself away underneath part of the walk way making it hard for it to be seen by the public. Clearly is this not a sign it does not want to be poked and prodded at by the on coming crowds of children. There was a rope net around the enclosure but I could not make out if it was for the safety of the public or to stop the vandalism of people throwing pennys into the pool as though the crocodile was some sort of wishing well, surely this would cause pollution to the water effecting the animal contained in it.

As well as the crocodile enclosure being polluted, I also noticed that the public had taken another opportunity to clutter the turtle and terrapin pool. I feel Tropical World should take more care in advising the public that this is wrong and dangerous for the animals, although there was a sign saying ‘Please do not touch the animals, as they may bite’ there also should of been a sign saying please do not litter in the ponds!

IMG_9394 IMG_9395

 

Another of the enclosures that caught my eye was the Meercat area, I found that they were mainly pressing their faces up against the glass and scourging down the sides of the enclosure as if they were trying to get out. Again, I did not feel the enclosure was big enough to home the Meercat family, they did not have a lot of ground space to run around in and I did find that they all seemed to be cooped up against one side of the glass.

Part of the glass has also cracked and simply been repaired with duck tape which I do not feel would be the best publicity or painting a good image of animal care to the public.

In the Creature Corner you would find an array of glass cages, some what similar to picture frames containing reptiles from snakes to tortoises.

IMG_9391

I could not help but look past the exterior of the care that is put into looking after the animals and see that the cages were very similar to glass frames, they were unrealistic and life like it felt, it reminded me of visiting a museum and the animals were in fact just on display for the publics delight.  There was a small paragraph of information on the animals but after observing the public, I found that not many people actually read the information and were in fact too busy knocking on the glass trying to disturb the creature inside.

I found it cruel that they were keeping a collection of exotic birds in the enclosure, birds natural instinct is to fly many miles due to climate change and hibernation and keeping them trapped inside, I believe is the wrong thing to do. It is taking away their natural behaviours and lifestyle.

My overall experience at Tropical World was pleasant and overall the animals seemed to be well looked after. Personally I think that it is only for a public attraction and I seen no information in them contributing to breeding and preserving programs. Tropical World do hold educational programs for school children but then again it reiterates that it is purposely made for the publics experience.

